Would you like to earn an average of $65,850 a year, but you don’t have four years or $80,000 to invest in a college education? For less than half the cost of a single 3-credit course at a Florida state university ($1,440), you can get your real estate license and start a new career in real estate today!

According to the US Department of Labor, the median income for real estate brokers and sales agents is $65,850 a year (2022). As the economy continues to recover, employment opportunities continue to improve in the real estate market. The US Department of Labor projects a growth of 11% in the real estate field over the next decade. With a minimal investment, you can prepare for a career as a real estate agent in the comfort of your own home.

If you, like most people, spend at least an hour a day online, you can complete a real estate course in your spare time. Although some states like California require three 45-hour courses, which must be completed in a minimum of 54 days, the state of Florida only requires one 63-hour course. Taking this course online gives you the flexibility to work around your busy schedule. You don’t have to rearrange your entire life to study for a career. In five easy steps, you can simply transition from your current job into a new career.

The Basic Florida Requirements

You might be wondering what kind of qualifications you need to pursue a career in real estate. The basic requirements in the state of Florida are quite simple:

-Be at least 18 years of age

-Have a Social Security Number

-Hold a high school diploma or the equivalent

Now that you know the requirements, let’s review the five steps you will need to complete to become a licensed real estate professional.

The 5 Steps to a Florida Real Estate License

1. Register for the 63-Hour Florida Principles, Practices and Law course

In the state of Florida, you have two options: you can register to take the course in a classroom (about $499) or you can take the virtual course online for just $199 . We recommend taking the virtual class online because it gives you more flexibility regarding time and location. In addition, a recent survey by the DBPR’s Bureau of Education and Testing indicates that online training results in a higher passing rate. In order to qualify for the state exam, you only need to complete the course and pass the end-of-course exam with a minimum score of 70%.

2. Apply with the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR)

You don’t need to wait to complete the 63-hour course to apply for a license, you can start the application process while you’re still taking the course. We do recommend, however, that you first become familiar with the course material and feel confident that you can pass the exam before investing in the application, fingerprinting, and examination fees.
Starting this process is easy, you simply create an account at the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation web site or fill out the License Application Form RE-1 and mail it directly to the DBPR.

3. Set an Appointment to Get Electronic Fingerprints with Pearson Vue

As part of the application process, you will need to submit to a criminal background check. This is a lot easier than it sounds. You simply need to set an appointment with a vendor like Pearson Vue and bring two forms of identification with you. One form of identification must have a photo and signature, like a driver’s license, state identification card, or passport.
The process is quick and easy. With electronic fingerprints, your fingers are simply rolled over a glass plate and scanned. The fingerprint process takes less than 15 minutes to complete. The fingerprint background report is compared with the information provided on your application. (Minor traffic infractions don’t need to be disclosed. However, failure to report criminal convictions that are later discovered with the fingerprint report may result in denial of the application.)
Keep in mind that these results will only be valid for 12 months. After that date, you will have to pay another fee and go through the process all over again, so make sure you get your digital fingerprints after you submit your application with the DBPR.

 4. Register and Schedule an Exam Date with Pearson Vue

To get a license application approved, you will need to pass a state exam consisting of 100 multiple-choice questions and receive a passing score of at least 75%. The computerized examination takes place at an approved independent testing service, so you will need to schedule an appointment. These appointments fill quickly, so don’t wait too long after completing your real estate class. You want the information fresh in your mind.
Since the exam itself is computerized, we highly recommend practicing with a simulated exam. Although you may know the information, the pressure of taking the actual exam can often be unnerving. Practicing with a simulated exam will help you feel comfortable with your computerized exam on exam day.

 5. Take and Pass the State Exam

Finally, it’s the big day! If you score a minimum of 75%, you receive a pass certificate and become a new real estate professional!
We recommend you promptly activate your license through a Florida Real Estate Broker.

A New Career for Less than $400 Can you really do all of this for less than $400? Absolutely! Let’s go over the numbers:

63-Hour Florida Principles, Practices, and Law Course (Streaming Live Online Course) $199.00
License Application Form RE- 1                                                                                                           83.75
Electronic Fingerprints Fee                                                                                                                   53.50
State Exam Fee                                                                                                                                         36.75

Total:                                                                                                          373.00

Guidance from Trained Professionals

Are you ready to begin your new career? You don’t have to do everything at once, just take the first step. The experienced professionals at Nexus International School of Real Estate can help you get started today. In fact, we are so confident in our ability to help you pass the state exam that we guarantee you will pass the exam in your first attempt, or we will pay for the second one.
For a limited time, you can even take advantage of our deal: the 63-Hour Florida Principles, Practices and Law Live Streaming Online Course for only $199.00

This course includes access to our free preparation practice tests and live monthly CRAM webinars, everything you need to get your real estate license on your first attempt!